Skip to content

Voicemail – Friend or Foe?

04/21/2010

Between the phone, email, text messages and various social media sites there are so many ways to reach someone these days.  It’s funny, for many instances, any of the above options would work, but there are times when only a phone call will do.

I can usually get by with a quick email to my underwriter on a question, but when I want to get into the nitty-gritty aspects of a coverage issue, I pick up the phone.  That usually involves leaving her voicemail message.

I try my hardest to leave a proper voicemail – stating my name, my direct line (even though I know she has it), and a short recap of which account I’m calling about. And you know what happens next, right? She calls back only to leave me a voicemail, because I’m not available. This is how phone tag begins.

If this sounds all too familiar, or you’re simply just swamped with messages, you may want to read Unclutter’s Nine Tips for Efficiently Processing Voicemail.

My personal voicemail processing tip: jot down your voice messages on a lined pad of paper in the same basic format for each one and cross each note off as you make your call backs. Then you can toss the paper at the end of the day knowing all calls were returned.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. b. murphy permalink
    04/21/2010 8:45 am

    Toss in the recycle bin, correct?

    • 04/21/2010 9:09 am

      Yes- please recycle the plain note paper…and of course shred anything that may contain personal data to stay
      201CRM17 compliant.

Leave a Reply

