Skip to content

Getting Our Feet Wet – Welcome to the MAIA Blog

09/15/2009

The Massachusetts Association of Insurance Agents (MAIA) and Number One Agency are jumping in to the world of social media. Our homepage, massagent.com® has always brought MAIA Members up to date information concerning industry news, legislation, training opportunities and available markets. However until now, we have lacked a place where agents can engage each other and the association staff in conversations about the Insurance Industry. With that in mind, the MAIA has decided to dive in and today this blog is born.

As your main author for the time being, I’d like introduce myself. I have worked for the Number One Agency since 2002, holding positions in the Workers’ Comp and Personal Umbrella departments before I became the Lawyers’ Professional Liability Program Manager in 2004. As a newbie to the industry, I started using MAIA’s training programs right away. Once I became licensed, I completed the CISR designation in 2004 and became a CIC in 2006. If we haven’t already connected through the Number One Insurance, The Big Event or at a Young Agent gathering in the past, I am excited to get to know you through this space.

In my life away from the office I have had a healthy interest in social media, and am active on several social media platforms. I believe that these tools can help people and businesses make connections, find answers and increase productivity. For the past year I have been watching lawyers utilize a variety of blogging platforms and I’m excited to dip into this area with other insurance professionals.  

You can also connect with me on Twitter @maia_melissa or at LinkedIn.

My goal is to bring Massachusetts Agents helpful information and to start discussions on the topics that matter to our industry. The hope is that in utilizing this technology, we can speed up our communications to you and make them more personal. After all, it is relationships that keep our industry running.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

