Skip to content

The Most Important Thing I Learned My First Year in the Biz…

07/12/2011
MAIA is fortunate to have so many member agents who are willing to share some of their perspectives and things they’ve learned about the industry. In the coming weeks we’ll be hearing from Board Members and Young Agents as guest bloggers on P&C Speaking. Christina Ahearn of Agostinelli & Teller Insurance in Framingham tells us about her first year  in the biz….

 

“You’ve got a lot to learn” my father (also the owner of the agency I work at) told me when I started day one of my insurance career.

I said, “I know. I can do it”. I’ve always been a fast learner so I thought, no problem. Well, to this day…almost 4 years later, I am still learning and the industry continues to change, what seems like month to month. Whether it be underwriting rules, the fees and regulations of the Registry, the latest in social media or simply giving a customer an accurate quote on an auto or home policy. There is a lot to keep up with, and this is one of the reasons I have stayed in the insurance business; the fact that I am learning something new almost daily.

My first year was definitely both exciting and somewhat frustrating. I came from working 5 years in the health care industry at Children’s Hospital to a small office of three people in the insurance industry. Not an easy change in terms of the learning curve I was about to encounter.  Taking classes at MAIA was a huge help to understanding this business. Now that I have my Property and Casualty license I rely on their classes to keep me and my license up to date.  I look back to that first year when I thought, ‘No problem, I’ll learn quickly’. Now I think that my father was right.

About Christina Ahern; Insurance Agent at Agostinelli & Teller Insurance Agency in Framingham, MA. I graduated from Westfield State College in 2002 with a degree in Psychology. I had been working in health care until I made the decision to come work for the family insurance business in 2007, which I never thought I would do, but here I am 4 years later!  I have my P&C License and am a member of the Young Agents Committee -Massachusetts. I live in Natick with my husband and spend the summers on Cape Cod and the winters skiing up in Maine.

 If you have an interest in becoming a guest blogger send an email to mmurphy@massagent.com. I’d love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

